2015老书虫文学奖复选名单揭晓

201572

2015老书虫文学奖复选名单揭晓

 

北京—老书虫很高兴地公布2015年首届老书虫文学奖复选名单,以及将从六部复选作品中选出最终获奖者的权威评审团成员名单。

老书虫文学奖于2015年1月创立,该奖每年选出一部中国大陆作家未经发表的长篇小说,翻译成英文并由老书虫出版社出版。此外, 获得一,二,三等奖的选手还将被分别授予5000元人民币,2500元人民币,和1000元人民币的奖励。

本次文学奖的参赛作品来自全国各地,参赛者既有曾出版过作品的专业作家,也有从未出版过的新作家。“本届文学奖参赛作品的质量总体很高,预示着中国文学令人期待的未来。我们收到作品的风格和主题范围极广,充分反映了当代中国作家经历的多样性,”老书虫出版社的经理Ran Wei说道,“最终复选名单的确定同时取决于作品的文学性和独特性。每部复选作品都从世界的重建中让人从全新的的角度审视人生,它们中的任何一部胜出都值得庆贺。”

以下是2015老书虫文学奖的复选名单(排列以作者姓名首字母为序,作品英译仅为暂译):

 

李子悦

李子悦生于八十年代,称自己为“一个慢腾腾的作者,一个雄赳赳的导演,一个雾蒙蒙的旅人”。他的参赛作品《我在红楼,你在西游》是一部始于一封价值千金的家传信的丢失的讽刺小说。

林为攀

林为攀是一位来自福建的文案从事人员,喜欢写小说。他的参赛作品《当一朵云撞见一张纸》是一部包含魔幻现实主义和意识流元素的小说,讲述了两个乡村男孩的故事。

铁头

铁头称自己为一个地地道道的东北人,现年29岁。他热爱讲故事,希望有一天能把东北的寒冷和酷热完美地写进故事,把故事讲到更冷和更热的地方。他的参赛作品《好朋友》是一部悬疑小说,探索了善与恶的本质及人类情感在其中扮演的重要角色。

王陌书

王陌书是来自江西省的一名18岁的学生。他的参赛作品《我们的我们》是一部探讨了哲学,生命与死亡的谜一样的小说,让人联想到英格玛.博格曼的电影。

王哲珠

王哲珠,80年代人,来自广东揭阳,主要写小说。她的参赛作品《戛然而止的列车》追随一列走向灭亡的火车,讲述了车上乘客的人生故事,他们各自的思想与情感,以及面对等待他们的灾难时的不同表现。

吴各

吴各,男,26岁,是一名教师。他的参赛作品《蜘蛛》是一部超现实主义讽刺小说,故事讲述了主人公在某天醒来时发现门口有只巨大的蜘蛛,以及之后发生的一系列令人始料未及的事件。

 

复选评审团由三位杰出的作家和翻译家组成,他们全都在中文文学,英文文学和文学翻译上有相当的造诣和丰富的经验:

 

Eric Abrahamsen是一位翻译家,编辑和出版顾问。他从2001年起定居北京,目前是《Pathlight》(《路灯》)杂志的编辑和英译中国文学网站Paper Republic的经理。

Xiaolu Guo (郭小橹) 是一位精通中国和英国当代生活及中西方文化对比的电影人和作家。她的著作《A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers》获得了2007年百利女性小说奖(Orange Prize for Fiction)的最终提名。她最新的小说《I Am China》于2014年由兰登书屋出版。在她导演和制片的10部电影中,《She, A Chinese》获得了2009年瑞典洛迦诺国际电影节的最高奖项金豹奖。

Karen Ma是一位美籍华人作家和记者。她在香港和日本渡过了性格形成期,之后又在世界各地的六个多城市居住生活,其中包括北京和纽约。她是获得极高评价的小说《Excess Baggage》的作者,同时也作为记者为美国国家公共电台(NPR),《生活月刊》, 《日本时报》,《国际先驱报》以及《南华早报》工作和撰稿。

 

老书虫出版社的董事总经理Peter Goff说道:“我们很荣幸能与这三位精通写作,编辑和翻译的文学才人合作,他们每个人都在中文和英文文学领域有着非常丰富的经验。这是一个特别优秀的团队,我们也很期待听到他们最后的评审结果。”

老书虫向所有进入复选的作者表示祝贺!最终获奖名单将与2015年8月公布。获得第一名的作品将被翻译成英文后由老书虫出版社出版。

 

关于老书虫出版社

老书虫出版社隶属老书虫集团,成立于2015年,专注于中国当代文学的翻译与出版。本社旨在出版优秀的中国当代文学作品,并将其翻译成各种语言介绍给世界各地的读者。详情请访问网站http://46.101.31.153/zh-hans/

关于老书虫

老书虫集团是一家于2005年于中国北京创立,并相继在成都和苏州开设了独立书店/咖啡吧/活动空间的文学机构。每年三月老书虫主办的老书虫国际文学节是中国最大的双语文化庆典,也是亚洲声望最高的文学节之一。详情请访问 www.chinabookworm.com

 

####

联系方式


Ran Wei, 出版总经理

ran@chinabookworm.com

 

Peter Goff, 出版董事总经理

peter@chinabookworm.com

 

北京老书虫电话: 010-6503-2050

成都老书虫电话: 028-85520177

2015 China Bookworm Literary Award Shortlist Revealed

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: July 2, 2015

 

 2015 China Bookworm Literary Award Shortlist Revealed

 

BEIJING – The Bookworm is delighted to announce the six finalists for its inaugural 2015 China Bookworm Literary Award, along with the esteemed jury tasked with selecting the winner.

The China Bookworm Literary Award was initiated in January 2015 to find a previously unpublished novel by a mainland Chinese writer. First-, second- and third-place winners will receive respective cash prizes of 5,000 RMB, 2,500 RMB and 1,000 RMB. In addition, the winning novel will be translated into English and published by the China Bookworm Press.

Entries for the contest came from both published and unpublished writers across the country. “The quality of the submissions is high and bodes well for the future of literature in China. We saw a broad range of topics and styles, reflecting the incredible diversity of experiences of contemporary Chinese writers,” said Ran Wei, General Manager of the China Bookworm Press. “The six ultimately shortlisted submissions were selected based on their craftsmanship and originality. Each reconstructs the world in a way that allows one to examine life from new perspectives. Any of them would make a deserving winner.”

The shortlisted authors for the 2015 China Bookworm Literary Award are as follows, in alphabetical order (please note: all translated manuscript titles are working titles only):

 

LI Ziyue

Li Ziyue is a self-professed slow writer, ambitious director and traveler born in the 1980s. His submission, I Am in the Red Chamber, You are on the Journey to the West, is a unique satire that starts with the loss of a letter supposedly written by a former Nationalist official promising a great fortune.

LIN Weipan

Lin Weipan is a copywriter from Fujian province who enjoys writing novels. His submission, When A Cloud Meets A Sheet of Paper, is a story about two boys in the countryside with elements of magical realism and streams of consciousness.

TIE Tou

Tie Tou is a 29-year-old writer from Northeast China. He is an enthusiastic storyteller who hopes to portray both the heat and cold of the Northeast, and to bring his stories to even warmer and colder places. His submission, Buddies, is an engrossing mystery that touches on the essence of good and evil and the important role human emotions play in it.

WANG Moshu

Wang Moshu is an 18-year-old student from Jiangxi province. His submission, We of Us, is an enigmatic book that explores the meaning of life and death and reads like an Ingmar Bergman film.

WANG Zhezhu

Wang Zhezhu is a writer from Jieyang (Guangdong province) born in the 1980s. Her submission, The Train that Came to its End, tells of a doomed train and the passengers on board – their life stories, their thoughts and feelings, and the different ways they cope with the disaster that awaits them.

WU Ge

Wu Ge is a 26-year-old teacher. His submission, The Spider, is an imaginative surrealist satire that starts with the narrator waking up one day and finding a giant spider at his/her door. As the story develops, a series of events eventually leads the reader to an intriguing conclusion.

 

The judging panel for the award consists of three distinguished literary figures, all of whom have worked with both Chinese- and English-language literature, as well as literary translations:

 

Eric Abrahamsen is a translator, editor and publishing consultant who has lived in Beijing since 2001. He edits Pathlight magazine and manages the website Paper Republic, providing information about Chinese literature in English.

Xiaolu Guo is a filmmaker and author who delves into contemporary life in China and Britain, probing East-West contrasts. Her book, A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers, was shortlisted for the 2007 Orange Prize for Fiction. I Am China is her latest novel, which was published by Random House in 2014. Among Guo’s 10 films as director/producer is She, A Chinese, which won the 2009 Golden Leopard, the top prize at the Locarno International Film Festival in Switzerland.

Karen Ma is a Chinese American author and journalist who spent her formative years in Hong Kong and Japan before living in more than a half-dozen cities around the world, including Beijing and New York. She is the author of the critically acclaimed novel Excess Baggage, and as a journalist she has worked for and contributed to publications such as NPR, Life Magazine, The Japan Times, The International Herald Tribute and the South China Morning Post.

 

Peter Goff, Managing Director of the China Bookworm Press, said: “We are delighted to be working with these three literary talents who between them have so much experience in writing, editing and translating, and who have worked extensively in both the Chinese and English languages. It is a wonderful team and we are very much looking forward to hearing their final verdict.”

The Bookworm would like to congratulate all the finalists. The winners will be announced in August 2015. The winning novel will be translated into English and published by the China Bookworm Press.

 

About China Bookworm Press

The China Bookworm Press is part of the Bookworm group, and was founded in early 2015 as an independent publisher of contemporary Chinese writing in translation. The Press seeks to publish leading contemporary fiction and non-fiction from China and make it available to a wider international audience in translation. For more information, please visit www.chinabookwormpress.com.

About The Bookworm

The Bookworm is a bookshop, library, bar/cafe and events space founded in Beijing in 2005, also with locations in Chengdu and Suzhou. Every March it hosts the Bookworm Literary Festival, the largest bilingual cultural event in China and one of the most prestigious literary festivals in Asia. For more information, please visit www.chinabookworm.com.

 

####

CONTACTS


Ran Wei, General Manager

ran@chinabookworm.com

 

Peter Goff, Managing Director

peter@chinabookworm.com

 

Beijing Office: 010-6503-2050

Chengdu Office: 028-85520177